Massive Headaches? It may be your lighting!
Thread poster: David Christian (X)
David Christian (X)
David Christian (X)  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 13:08
Japanese to English
Nov 18, 2012

I was a manager for the United States Forest Service where I constructed over 6,000 miles of wilderness trail over my career. Then I became a licensed river guide and ran cargo boats for several years before finally making a career shift to translation. So I usually work outdoors, and am slowly getting used to the indoor life.

After going freelance, I started to spend much more time in my tiny Japanese apartment (closet?). That’s when I noticed massive, unbearable, absolutely h
... See more
I was a manager for the United States Forest Service where I constructed over 6,000 miles of wilderness trail over my career. Then I became a licensed river guide and ran cargo boats for several years before finally making a career shift to translation. So I usually work outdoors, and am slowly getting used to the indoor life.

After going freelance, I started to spend much more time in my tiny Japanese apartment (closet?). That’s when I noticed massive, unbearable, absolutely horrific headaches. I had always had them before, but never this bad. And there is only so much aspirin you can take and still stay standing. I needed to find the cause, but where should I start, I wondered.

That’s when a friend suggested that the culprit might be my three overhead fluorescent light bulbs in my home (CFLs). After doing some research online, I found a few interesting articles about the reality of fluorescent lighting, and the adverse health effects. You can start by looking at Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fluorescent_lamps_and_health.