David Sousa
David Sousa
Spain
Local time: 20:21
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jul 15, 2018

Hello,

I'm new to Proz, and I have some common questions on payment, I'm sure these have been asked, so If anyone is kind to tell me how I can find such post please I'd be thankful.

How to deal with payment, should I ask for a percentage in advance? How can I be sure I'll get paid?

Is there a section here on Payment in Forums?

Do you just expect clients to pay and trust their good will or there is some kind of warranty or a solution to deal wi
... See more
Hello,

I'm new to Proz, and I have some common questions on payment, I'm sure these have been asked, so If anyone is kind to tell me how I can find such post please I'd be thankful.

How to deal with payment, should I ask for a percentage in advance? How can I be sure I'll get paid?

Do you just expect clients to pay and trust their good will or there is some kind of warranty or a solution to deal with payments?

In small jobs you trust the client and in bigger jobs you demand an advance?

Because I guess it's very easy for clients to not pay...

Any answer that can clear me a bit is appreciated.

Thanks a lot, greets, David
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:21
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Deleted Jul 16, 2018

I keep trying to delete this....

[Edited at 2018-07-16 12:20 GMT]

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Before you begin Jul 16, 2018

[quote]Tom in London wrote:

Before accepting the job:

Agree the exact amount (or the rate per word) they will pay you for the job. Make sure they give you:

(a) their business address
(b) their VAT number.

Then wait for them to confirm.

When they have confirmed, that is a contract - even if it's only an email, so keep all you emails until you've been paid.

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
deleted Jul 16, 2018

zz

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom