Josephine Gardiner
Josephine Gardiner  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:44
Spanish to English
+ ...
Aug 17, 2016

Hello,
I just had a query about a transcription job (medical). I've never done transcription before and have no idea what to charge. Presumably it takes longer than normal translation. What do people charge in relation to their normal rates?

sombane vannavongsy

Elena Aclasto
Elena Aclasto  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 14:44
English to Italian
+ ...
It depends on the subject, but generally speaking... Aug 17, 2016

I am paid 20 USD per audio hour for general transcription, no matter the language ( I work for a company as a transcriber in the Italian language, but they pay the same for those who transcribe in English, French etc).

Just to give you an idea

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
The translation is just one part of a two-part job Aug 17, 2016

Josephine Gardiner wrote:
I just had a query about a transcription job (medical). I've never done transcription before and have no idea what to charge. Presumably it takes longer than normal translation. What do people charge in relation to their normal rates?

A transcription involves typing a script of what is said in an audio or video file - IN THE SAME LANGUAGE. This script then has to be translated in the normal way.